• NAYCOM Awarded Bronze by H.E. Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma on outstanding performance 2012

  • Minister of Youth Affairs Mohamed O. Bangura and World Bank Delegation

  • NAYCOM Bags Silver Award for Best Performance

  • @naycom

  • Commissioner & Deputy Commissioner NAYCOM

  • Youth Consultation in the Constitutional Review Process

Graduate Internship Programme 2016 : Download Training Material





In a Karl Popper Debate format, pupils from Western Area Urban which comprises St. Edwards Secondary School, Services Secondary School- Juba, Government Technical Secondary School, St. Joseph Convent, Bishop Johnson Secondary School among others have won the National School Debate Competition. The debate was organized by the National Youth Commission with support from OSIWA on the theme: ENHANCING YOUTH CIVIC ENGAGEMENT IN THE DEMOCRATIZATION PROCESSES IN SIERRA LEONE.
The three days event hosted at the Miatta Conference Hall from 17th -19th August, saw schools from Port Loko, Western Area Rural and Moyamba knocked out of the competition on the second day taking Western Area Urban and Kenema to the finals. In what seemed like a very tight competition between the two teams that debated on the motion: ‘National Service should be made Compulsory for all School Leavers’. Western Area Urban team represented by Sylvester Shaw, James Fortune and Alex A. Bah debated in the affirmative with arguments building up their cases for National Service to be made compulsory for all school leavers. Kenema team on the other hand represented by Mohamed Sheriff, Nyuma S. Senesie and Lucy Christiana Bockarie laid a Negative Constructive case arguing against the motion.
Western Area Urban team scored 418 points and Kenema scored 384 points. Western Area Urban team emerged as the winners with 34 points based on the Judges’ Ballot Sheet. General prizes were awarded to the debaters. These included backpack, scientific calculators, rechargeable solar lights and certificates. The overall four best speakers in the debate had cash prizes.
Judges for the finals comprised of Mohamed Kanneh, Sirajin Rollings Kamara, Victor Moininah
Frank G. Conteh and Tamba Suffie Momarkoe.
Technical support was given by the Sierra Leone Debating Council.


Sponsored By:

Sponsored By: